Whole 30 Pico de Gallo

Sorry for another tomato recipe, but here it is. That’s what I get for shopping at Costco and purchasing Ginormous amounts of produce at once. However, today I went to Soulard Farmers Market and got some great farm raised brown eggs, eggplant, parsnips and a big head of cabbage that I’m planning on making into grilled cabbage with smoky lime cilantro sauce. It is divine. I love anything latin flavored and this Pico is another great example of that. I’ve already had to make two batches because my husband keeps eating it with chips! That makes me slightly jealous, but certainly not bad enough to break my whole 30 for. Speaking of my whole 30, I am on day 10! At least I think I am. Do I start counting the day I began as 1, or is that day 0? I am confused. Either way, I am in over a week and doing great! I had one small hiccup, and that was because I assumed about a sauce and when I double checked later it had agave nectar and evaporated cane juice in it! Both No-no’s on whole 30. Oh well, it couldn’t have been much and I certainly felt no ill effects from eating the Key lime chicken that it was in. After the first few days of headache and fatigue I am feeling pretty normal. When I work out I do fatigue more easily and I have had some pretty difficult runs. Keep in mind those runs were in 90-95 degree heat and I was going around 8:30/mile. Which isn’t my fastest, but isn’t a slow run by any means. Anyway, the point is, I’ve been having an extremely positive experience so far! looking forward to the next 20 days! or 21, whatever.

Whole 30 Pico de Gallo

Yield: 811 g total, 20 servings with 40.5 g per serving, about ¼ cup

Nutrition per serving

Calories 12.2

Fat 0.1 g

Sodium 96 mg

Carbs 2.6 g

Fiber 0.8 g

Sugar 0.9 g

Protein 0.6 g

Ingredients

1 lb red grape/cherub tomatoes, diced or quartered

7 oz diced white or yellow onion

3 medium cloves garlic, minced

¼ minced fresh cilantro

juice of 4 ½ limes

1 tsp kosher salt

3 medium/small seeded and diced chili peppers. I used 2 jalapenos and 1 Serrano

Mix all all ingredients in a bowl and let marinate for at least 30 minutes. Eat it on anything! My husband isn’t doing whole 30 so he devoured about half of it last night with tortilla chips! I eat it on my eggs and on grilled chicken breast. I also have mixed it up with sauteed veggies for added flavor. So yummy!

IMG_5180

pretty sure I forgot to include the garlic in my first batch, oops! Still tasty regardless.

Leave a Reply

