Spring Vegetable Bulgar ‘Risotto’

IMG_4950No, this is NOT a real authentic style risotto. Please don’t be too dissapointed! I Love real risotto, but didn’t even think about making a risotto style dish until my bulgar was already cooked. I had planned on making it into a cool grain salad with fruit and herbs, but then became inspired while staring into the depths of my fridge to use up some veggies and make a risotto. I know I say this about all the dishes I make, but, holy cow is it delicious! I am in love with the nuttiness of the bulgar and the bright flavors of the veggies. Peas and asparagus (asparagi?) is one of my favorite veggie combos but I tend to forget this fact until I am tasting them!

I rarely cook bulgar, but happened to have some in my pantry and as it happens I am trying to do some spring cleaning on my pantry and use up old items. Sometimes I wish I did this more often as I tend to come up with some gems! Bulgar is great as a side dish, and if you add some protein in it can be a great main dish as well. If you’ve never tried it I encourage you to buy some and check this risotto recipe out, I plan on maing this every week now, or some variation thereof!

Spring Vegetable Bulgar Risotto
Yield 5 servings 6.8 oz each

Nutrition

Calories: 175

Fat: 4.4

Sodium: 153.5 mg

Total Carbs: 29 g

Sugar: 1.3 g

Protein: 7.4 g

IMG_4948

Ingredients:

1 cup bulgar wheat, dry *(use quinoa for Gluten Free option!)

2 cups water

1 tsp kosher salt, divided

freshly cracked black pepper to taste

4 oz asparagus, diced

4 oz zucchini, diced

2 oz white onion, diced, about ¼ cup

2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

2/3 cup frozen peas

1 cup chicken (or vegetable) stock

1 tsp butter

2 Tb grated Parmesan cheese

 

  • First, cook the bulgar wheat. Heat water and ½ tsp salt to a boil and add bulgar. Cover, reduce heat to simmer and cook for about 15-20 minutes, or until all the water has been absorbed. Mine was nice and fluffy by the time it was done cooking. Set aside until later.
  • Add the olive oil to a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add diced onion and remaining ½ tsp salt and pepper and saute til the onions start turning opaque.
  • Add in the asparagus and zucchini and saute for 5-7 minutes, or until veggies are tender-crisp.
  • Add the peas in and saute briefly to heat them.
  • Turn heat to medium high then add bulgar into the saucepan along with ½ cup of the chicken stock.
  • Stir until chicken stock is absorbed and then add the remaining stock.IMG_4949
  • Let most of the stock be absorbed by the bulgar then remove the pan from the heat and stir butter and Parmesan in.
  • Taste for seasoning and add salt and pepper for taste.
  • EAT.IMG_4951
One thought on “Spring Vegetable Bulgar ‘Risotto’

Leave a Reply

