What’s for lunch?

 

Tuna my way.

Canned tuna can be a super easy and quick way to put a lunch together for yourself that is tasty and filling. If you like tuna that is. If not, you’re out of luck on this one. I make mine with diced apples, celery and caraway seeds. I use light mayo and a lot of lemon juice, salt and pepper too. I love the caraway seeds because I used to eat tuna on rye, but since I have cut most bread from my diet I usually just use romaine hearts to eat my tuna in. Little tuna lettuce wraps that still have the rye flavor mixed in. I love it. Yesterday I had mine with just some baby carrots that my wonderful mother in law brought me from her food co-op. (She is always bringing me her extra produce and I love it!) I also stuck some leftover avocado into my tuna and it really added some creaminess to it.

Yesterdays lunch breakdown:

Romaine: 5 large leaves

1 can solid white tuna (starkist)

1 Tb Light mayo

1.1 oz avocado

78 g celery, about 2 sticks

3 oz apple diced, about 1/3 of a medium fuji

lemon juice of half a lemon, salt, pepper and 1 tsp caraway seeds

3 oz baby carrots

lots of water!

Total calories: 341

One thought on “What’s for lunch?

Leave a Reply

