Lunchtime Eggs

Today for lunch I couldn’t decide what to have. None of my proteins were appealing to me and I wasn’t in the mood for a sandwich. Since lately I’ve been eating sweet breakfasts I haven’t been going through my eggs quickly. I do love eggs, I have just been crazy about sweets and trying to get Christian to eat oatmeal for breakfast. Today however for lunch there was some very enticing goat cheese and basil just begging to be eaten. I decided that I needed goat cheese in my life, so I was going to make an egg white omelet with goat cheese, basil, hummus and red pepper. I threw on some salsa and avocado for good measure. I was mixing my food ethnicities, but it turned out to be amazing!

Image

Here it is without the salsa

Yield: 1 omelet

Nutrition

Calories: 336

Fat: 16.7 g

Sodium: 725.5 g

Total Carbs: 21.9 g

Fiber: 6.1 g

Sugar: 4.6 g

Protein: 24.2 g

 

Ingredients

4 Egg whites

53 g (1/2 small pepper) Red bell pepper, diced and cooked in pam

1 oz Goat cheese, crumbled

5 fresh Basil leaves, ripped up or cut into a chiffonade

2 Tb Hummus (homemade for Rowans party, and it contributed 108 cals. I usually would use a lower cal hummus, but I want to use this up)

1.25 oz Avocado, (3/4 of a half an avocado)

2 Tb Chunky Salsa

 

Cook your egg whites in pam or 1/4 tsp of oil of your choice. When the egg is done fold it up in half and cook the red bell pepper in the same pan until softened. Plate your egg, top with bell pepper, hummus, basil, avocado, goat cheese, and salsa. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

