My very own Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats and Date Paste

Yield: 1 serving

Nutrition

Calories: 205.3

Fat: 4.3 g

Sodium: 75.6 mg

Total Carbs: 44.3 g

Fiber: 6.8 g

Sugar: 8.9 g

Protein: 5.9 g

IMG_4601

Ingredients

½ cup dry Old Fashioned Oats

½ cup unsweetened Almond Milk

50 g diced apple, about ¼ medium apple, mine were Honey crisps

¼ tsp Vanilla

¼ tsp Cinnamon

¼ oz Date Paste, about 1 ½ tsp

Mix all ingredients except apples together in an airtight container, I used little canning jars. Place the apples on top and seal. Put the oats in the refrigerator over night and voila! Next morning a delightful breakfast awaits! If you want you can always substitute Stevia or Splenda for the date paste, I just am trying out a new form of sweetener. And I love dates. I served my oats this morning with a little bit of vanilla protein powder for extra protein. It.was.amazing.

IMG_4605

Date Paste

Yield: 9 oz total

Nutrition per ounce

Calories: 62.2

Fat: 0 g

Sodium: 0.9 mg

Total Carbs: 14.6 g

Fiber: 1.6 g

Sugar: 13 g

Protein: 0.4 g

 

Ingredients

183 g (1 cup?) Dates,  Medjool are recommended, but I used Deglet and they’re great. And cheaper.

Water

Small canning jar

Put your dates into the canning jar, packing in the dates to the top. Cover with water, put on the lid and place in fridge and let soak for 24-48 hours. Take your dates and water (Do not Discard!) and place in your blending device of choice. Since the dates are pretty tough even after soaking I chose my hand blenders mini food processor option. You can use anything that will blend up the dates. Blend! I pulsed mine and scraped down the sides of the bowl a few times to get everything nicely incorporated. If your dates are very tough or you don’t want to soak them I would suggest measuring them and the water out and heating them up in a small saucepan until they’re tender enough to blend. Once the dates are blended up I re-measured mine to see how many ounces it made, then put the date paste back into the jar for storage. Put it in the fridge and use in whatever you want! I will be using mine mostly in baking and oatmeal/oats. I am also planning on using some to sweeten my granola I’ll be making in the next few days. I will probably thin it out with water before mixing it in with the granola. I’ll let you all know how that goes!

2 thoughts on “My very own Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats and Date Paste

Leave a Reply

