Crockpot Steelcut Oats

Holy easy and tasty recipe! You may notice that I love things that I can eat for breakfast and also things I can make ahead of time. When these are combined it’s a happy day in my book! I have seen a million recipes for crock pot steel cut oats and one night decided to finally try my hand at this. Turns out, it’s ridiculously easy! Pour ingredients into crock-pot, turn it on, let it cook on high for an hour and a half, turn it off, (Do not open the lid to smell!) go to bed and in the morning, bam. Delicious steel cut oats without having to stir them for 20 minutes (which feels like an eternity if you’re hungry and tired and still waking up with coffee in hand. No? Is that only me?).

Crockpot Steelcut Oats

Yield: 4 Servings ~240 grams (each batch varies depending on exactly how much water was absorbed and if you added any extras, but mine is always plain and doesn’t change much)

Nutrition

Calories: 182

Fat: 3.6 g

Sodium: 41.2 mg

Total Carbs: 30 g

Fiber: 5.6 g

Sugar: 0.3

Protein: 7.3 g

Ingredients

1 cup Steel Cut Oats

1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk

3 cups Water

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 tsp Cinnamon

*1 tsp Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (Hersheys, Ghirardellis) I dont always use this, but its tasty and adds about 1 calorie.

IMG_4620

*You can certainly add sweetener before you cook it if you like. Since Christian and I both eat these oats I like to leave them plain and sweeten them before I serve them. I use stevia or splenda and he gets date paste. I used to use brown sugar for him, but I’m trying to use more natural, unprocessed ingredients. The date paste is so yummy so occasionally I use it too, for a treat. I made that from scratch and will include how I did it in my next post.

Put all ingredients and any extras you want (chopped apples, dried fruit, nuts, peanut butter) in a crock pot on high. Cover and let it cook for an hour and a half. Turn the crock pot off, go to bed and wake up to breakfast. Now if only I could get someone to serve it to me in bed…IMG_4624

One thought on “Crockpot Steelcut Oats

Leave a Reply

