Laurie’s Butternut Squash Soup

I went to visit my good friend Laurie yesterday and we went on a grocery shopping adventure to Costco. Man, I love that place! I kinda want to live there. Then I could just make whatever I want, whenever I want it, without having to go to the store for ingredients!   Well while we were there I remembered that Laurie has an amazing and simple recipe for butternut squash soup! And you can buy a 2 pound box of cut up butternut squash pieces, how perfect is that? Especially since the recipe calls for exactly 2 pounds of cut up butternut squash, and I haaaaate cutting raw squash! This soup is so easy and so tasty. It’s a perfect side dish for me since I love to eat soup with my meals to help fill me up.

Laurie’s Butternut Squash Soup

Yield: 10 servings (7.7 oz)

Nutrition per serving

Calories: 56.4

Fat: 1.7 g

Sodium: 520.3 mg (without any added kosher salt)

Total Carbs: 9.6 g

Fiber: 1.6 g

Sugar: 2.5 g

Protein: 2.2 g

 

Ingredients

2 pounds cut up Butternut Squash

1 TB Coconut Oil (gives it amazing flavor without tasting like tanning oil.)

2/3 cup Yellow Onion, diced (mine was 5 oz and looked like around 2/3 cup)

5 medium cloves of Garlic, minced or slivered (I added this to Laurie’s origional recipe)

Kosher Salt, about a tsp (I don’t measure salt, I’m bad, I know)

Freshly cracked Black Pepper (see above)

1 tsp Nutmeg

6 cups Chicken Broth

Image

Heat and large pot over medium heat with the coconut oil. Add the diced onion, some kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper. *Side note about the coconut oil. You do not have to use this, but I highly recommend it! (Sub in Olive oil if you don’t use it.) I bought a small container from Trader Joes and use it all the time for paleo baking, sauteing anything, and I’ve even used it instead of butter on toast. with honey. try it, you’ll die. ImageSaute until the onion is becoming translucent, then add the garlic and the squash pieces. ImageSaute for about 5 minutes more until the onion is very soft and the garlic is getting a little toasted. Add in the chicken stock, nutmeg. Cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.Image When the squash is soft blend in batches or use a hand blender to blend the soup into smooth velvetly yumminess.Image

My soup bounty! I always weigh it out (this is 2 servings) and put some in the freezer so I don’t get burnt out from eating a ton of soup before it goes bad!

7 thoughts on “Laurie’s Butternut Squash Soup

  1. I need to try this! I am trying spaghetti squash for the first time this week! That blueberry syrup in an earlier post looks awesome! I am going to try it, I think archer will love it.

Leave a Reply

