Whole 30 Greek Turkey Tomato Sauce with Spinach

My mom is great at sharing. She always buys in bulk and ends up giving me half of what she bought! And sometimes she gives me things she doesn’t like. She had a big bag of Penzeys Spices Greek seasonings that she (thinks) she didn’t enjoy. So she gave it all to me! To my delight I love it! And I love my momma. I have been using the new spice mix in some yummy recipes, like my new spinach burger and this recipe here, greek turkey tomato sauce. It’s basically a greek spiced ground turkey spaghetti sauce, or Bolognese as the italians call it. The spice mix is nothing crazy, just salt, oregano, marjoram, lemon peel,  and ground pepper. It gives great flavor though, similar to gyro meat. mmmmmm. Check out Penzey’s spices if you never have, they’re awesome! My mom lives right one of their shops and I love stopping in there. This sauce is easy to make and you can get it on the table quickly if you are hungry. Add some spaghetti squash or veggie noodles and you’re set! My husband really likes this recipe and he eats it plain. Generally right out of the fridge in its storage container, cold! Our microwave is broken or he might bother to heat it up. But turning on the stove and putting things into a pot is such a pain, right? Oh well, its his food!

Whole 30 Greek Turkey Tomato Sauce with Spinach

Yield: 10 servings of 5.5 oz

Nutrition per serving

Calories 130.6

Fat 6.1 g

Sodium 527.4 mg

Carbs 4.6 g

Fiber 1.2 g

Sugars 2 g

Protein 16 g

 

Ingredients

about 1 ¾ lbs ground turkey, 93/7 fat content, mine was actually 26.9 oz of meat

3.3oz yellow onion, diced, or one small onion

3 cloves garlic, minced

3 cups fresh spinach leaves

one 28 oz can organic whole peeled tomatoes in juice (crush by hand before adding if using these), or two 14 oz cans diced tomatoes in juice

½ Tb coconut or extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp kosher salt

Cracked black pepper to taste

2 tsp Penzey’s Greek seasoning spices, or Greek seasonings of choice. The penzeys blend is delicious and includes lemon peel!

 

In a large dutch oven or skillet heat oil and add in onions and garlic. Saute until onion starts to soften and turn opaque and the garlic is toasty and fragrant. Add your turkey, pepper, salt and Greek seasonings. Cook the turkey through until there’s no pink left and the juices are dried up. Add in the tomatoes with their juice in a hot spot in the pan. Tomato juice should bubble and cook a bit. At this point mix everything together and add in the spinach leaves. Let the spinach wilt then taste for spicing and add more if necessary. You can let the sauce simmer for a bit if its too wet for your liking. I leave mine wetter since its not uncommon for me to put mine straight into the refrigerator for future meals. When I do this the meat tends to reabsorb some of the juice and get drier, so I leave more juice in mine. I love this served alone or over spaghetti squash. I have a new veggie slicer that makes noodles out of almost any veggie! I can’t wait to make some zucchini noodles and serve this sauce over it!

 

IMG_5228

veggie noodles from my new slicer!

 

One thought on “Whole 30 Greek Turkey Tomato Sauce with Spinach

  1. yay! I just got my slicer…I can’t wait to use it! This looks delicious, by the way…and I love Penzey’s!

Leave a comment